Department of Maritime Systems, Interdisciplinary Faculty, University of Rostock


In the year 2007, the Interdisciplinary Faculty was founded at the University of Rostock in order to concentrate the marine research at the university. There are three main research areas in this focus.

The research area “Coastal zones in global and regional change” is devoted to the main trends in the ecosystem. Among these are the changes in hydrodynamics and sediment dynamics, changes in cycles of matter and changes in biodiversity. In this respect, it is necessary to determine the causes and consequences of these changes and to predict scenarios for expected change.

The research area “Use of marine systems” developes environmentally sound technical solutions in all areas of the marine economy. The spectrum ranges from experimental investigations and modeling of hydrodynamic processes to the construction of large-scale structures, innovations in shipbuilding and the conception of coastal defense measures. Innovative strategies are also being developed for fisheries and for aquaculture.
In the research area “Sustainable development and management” the manifold demands for use of the coastal zone are regarded in their ecological, economical, political and social contexts. Holistic strategies, such as integrated coastal zone management and marine spatial planning, should contribute to the development of the coasts as ecologically intact and economically prospering places to live and work.




Wismarsche Str. 8
18051 Rostock

Head: Prof. Dr. Bernd Lennartz

Public Relations:
Tel: +49 381 / 498 8921
Email: ed.kcotsor-inu//@stm



Der Master-Studiengang qualifiziert für leitende naturwissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten in Umwel...



The aquaculture Masterscourse is a research-oriented university study course with a total dura...

Department Maritime Systeme, Interdisziplinäre Fakultät, Universität Rostock

HRO Uni

Im Jahr 2007 wurde mit dem Ziel, die universitäre Forschung zu maritimen Themen zu bündeln, an der Universität Rostock das Department Maritime Systeme gegründet. Drei Schwerpunkte prägen die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in diesem Department.

Der Forschungsbereich »Küstenzonen im globalen und regionalen Wandel« widmet sich wichtigen ökosystemaren Trends, wie Änderungen in der Hydro- und Sedimentdynamik, Änderungen der Stoffkreisläufe und Veränderungen der Biodiversität. Es werden Ursachen und Konsequenzen dieser Trends ermittelt und Szenarien der zu erwartenden Änderungen prognostiziert.

Im Forschungsbereich »Nutzung maritimer Systeme« werden technische Lösungen für alle Bereiche der maritimen Wirtschaft entwickelt. Das Spektrum reicht von der Untersuchung und Modellierung hydrodynamischer Prozesse bis zur Konstruktion maritimer Großstrukturen, Innovationen im Schiffbau und der Konzeption von Küstenschutzmaßnahmen. Innovative Strategien werden auch für die Fischereiwirtschaft und Aquakultur erarbeitet.

Im Forschungsbereich »Nachhaltige Entwicklung und Management« werden die vielfältigen Nutzungsinteressen in Küstenräumen in ihrem ökologischen, ökonomischen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Kontext betrachtet. Ganzheitliche Strategien (IKZM, Marine Raumplanung) sollen dazu beitragen, die Küsten als ökologisch intakten und wirtschaftlich prosperierenden Lebensraum zu entwickeln.

 

 

Kontakt

Wismarsche Str. 8
18051 Rostock

Leiter: Prof. Dr. Bernd Lennartz

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: 0381 / 498 8921
E-Mail: ed.kcotsor-inu//@stm
Web: http://www.inf.uni-rostock.de/mts/

Bildungsangebote

Meeresbiologie

Der Master-Studiengang qualifiziert für leitende naturwissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten in Umwel...

weiterlesen

Aquakultur

Der Masterstudiengang Aquakultur ist ein forschungsorientierter universitärer Studiengang mit...

weiterlesen