LITTORINA

Littorina Gesamt

The research cutter LITTORINA is property of the University of Kiel and is operated by the GEOMAR. Its construction was funded by the German Research Foundation in an effort to save the high charter costs for external ships.

"It's hard to imagine the German research fleet without the Littorina. With a length of around 30 metres, she may belong to the "small ones", but as far as applications and performance are concerned, she can take on the "big ones" anytime. For 33 years, she has provided excellent working conditions - especially for coastal research. From scientific diving cruises to the deployment of-state-of-the-art measuring technology - the Littorina is prepared. A big Hooray for this small ship!"

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schrottke, Institute of Geosciences, University of Kiel

The LITTORINA cruises mainly the North and the Baltic Sea, but is also suited for voyages to the English Canal and the Norwegian Coast. Even though the name ‘Littorina’ translates as ‘periwinkle’, the ship is by no means moving at a snail’s pace: Its top speed is 10 knots, or 18 kph.

On cruises of several days’ duration, the LITTORINA offers living space for 6 scientists; up to twelve can participate in day cruises. The technical equipment enables researchers to take water and sediment samples from up to 500 metres depth. Aboard, there is a diving room and diving equipment for 12 people. That is why the LITTORINA is often used for training courses and activities of the research diving group at the Christian Albrechts University Kiel. Last but not least, scientists have access to an up-to-date multibeam echosounder for shallow waters.

The Littorina at a glance

Year of Construction: 1975
Owner: Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel
Opertor: GEOMAR
Port of Registry: Kiel
Length: 29,8 m
Beam: 7,4 m
Draught: 3,0 m
Speed: 10 knots
Nautical Crew: 5 Persons
Scientists: 6 Persons (12 on day cruises)

Members

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel is one of the world’s leading institutions i...

more

LITTORINA

Littorina Gesamt

Die LITTORINA ist ein Forschungskutter, der der Universität Kiel gehört und vom GEOMAR betrieben wird. Finanziert wurde sein Bau von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, die damit die hohen Charterkosten für fremde Schiffe vermeiden wollte.

"Die Littorina ist aus der Flotte der Deutschen Forschungsschiffe nicht wegzudenken. Mit ihren rund 30 Metern Länge gehört sie zwar offiziell zu den „Kleinen“, in Punkto Einsatzmöglichkeiten und Leistungsbereitschaft braucht sie sich aber hinter den „Großen“ keineswegs zu verstecken. Seit 33 Jahren bietet sie hervorragende Arbeitsbedingungen - insbesondere für die Küstenforschung. Ob Ausfahrten mit Forschungstauchern oder mit modernster Messtechnik – die Littorina ist bereit. Ein großes Lob für dieses kleine Schiff!"

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schrottke, Institute of Geosciences, Uni Kiel

 

Die LITTORINA, übersetzt: Strandschnecke, befährt hauptsächlich die Ost- und Nordsee, kann aber auch im Englischen Kanal und an der norwegischen Küste eingesetzt werden. Und das keineswegs im Schneckentempo. Das Schiff erreicht eine Geschwindigkeit von maximal 10 Knoten, umgerechnet 18 Stundenkilometer.  

Auf mehrtägigen Fahrten bietet die LITTORINA 6 Wissenschaftlern Platz; an Tagesfahrten können maximal ein Dutzend Wissenschaftler teilnehmen. Die technische Ausrüstung erlaubt es den Forschern, Wasser- und Sedimentproben aus bis zu 500 Meter Meerestiefe zu nehmen. An Bord befindet sich ein Taucherraum sowie Tauchausrüstung für 12 Personen. Deshalb wird die LITTORINA oft für Lehrgänge und Arbeiten der Forschungstauchergruppe am Zentrum für Geowissenschaften an der Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel genutzt. Last but not least steht den Wissenschaftlern ein modernes Flachwasser-Fächerlot zur Verfügung.  

Die Littorina auf einen Blick

Baujahr: 1975
Eigner: Christian-Albrechts-Universität, Kiel
Betreiber: GEOMAR
Heimathafen: Kiel
Länge: 29,8 m
Breite: 7,4 m
Tiefgang: 3,0 m
Geschwindigkeit: 10 kn
Besatzung: 5 Personen
Wissenschaftler: 6 Personen (12 bei Tagesfahrten)

 

Mitglieder

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel

Das GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel ist Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ...

weiterlesen