MARIA S. MERIAN

Merian Gesamt

The MARIA S. MERIAN is the youngest member of the German research fleet. When launched in 2006, she was the world's most modern multi-disciplinary research vessel. The ship is based in Rostock-Warnemuende but is usually found in the North Atlantic and the adjacent seas.

"For Baltic Sea Researchers like us, the MERIAN is the ideal platform for practicing our interdisclipinary approach at sea, as joint expeditions of marine biologists, oceanographers, marine chemists and marine geologists require a ship with lots of space for staff and equipment. And thanks to the ice reinforcement of the Merian, we can now do research even on the wintry, icecovered Baltic Sea."

- Prof. Dr. Detlef Schulz-Bull, Head of the Marine Chemistry Department at the IOW

 The MARIA S. MERIAN is also fit for research expeditions to the near-polar regions - it can break through an ice shield of up to 60 cm width and move among drifting ice floes.

To be easily manoeuvrable, the MERIAN was built with a special propulsion system. Mounted below the hull are two propellers which can turn a full 360°. They allow the ship to precisely maintain a fixed position at sea. That is, for example, important for the deployment of remotely operated submersibles or the seafloor drilling device MeBo. Two stabilizing systems guarantee a smooth passage, so that the 23 scientists don't have to worry about rough seas when doing lab work.

Besides technology, environment played a key role in designing the MERIAN. The ship was awarded the label "Blue Angel" for operating environmentally friendly. In sensitive regions, for example, the MERIAN can go for 48 hours without discharging any waste water. Sewage is collected in special tanks on board. The MARIA S. MERIAN was the first newly-built German research vessel after a 15-year break. It replaces the A. V. HUMBOLDT, which was decommissioned due to her age.

The Maria S. Merian at a glance

Year of construction: 2006
Owner: Federal State of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Operator: Co-ordinating office FS MARIA S. MERIAN
Port of Registry: Rostock
Length: 94,8 m
Beam: 19,2 m
Draught: max. 6,5 m
Speed: max. 15 knots
Nautical Crew: 21 Persons
Scientists: 23 Persons

Members

Baltic Sea Research Institute Warnemünde

The Institute for Baltic Sea Reasearch in Warnemünde (IOW) is a non-university research insti...

more

MARIA S. MERIAN

Merian Gesamt

Die MARIA S. MERIAN galt bei ihrem Stapellauf 2006 als weltweit modernstes multidisziplinäres Forschungsschiff. Haupteinsatzgebiete des Schiffs, das in Rostock-Warnemünde seinen Heimathafen hat, sind der Nordatlantik und die angrenzenden Meere.

"Für uns Ostseeforscher bietet die MERIAN die ideale Plattform, um unseren interdisziplinären Forschungsansatz auch auf See zu praktizieren, denn gemeinsame Expeditionen von Meeresbiologen, Ozeanographen, Meereschemikern und Marinen Geologen brauchen nun mal ein Schiff mit viel Platz für Geräte und Personal. Und durch die Eisverstärkung der Merian können wir nun auch auf der winterlichen eisbedeckten Ostsee forschen."

Prof. Dr. Detlef Schulz-Bull, Leiter der Sektion Meereschemie am IOW

 

Die MARIA S. MERIAN ist auch für Forschungs- arbeiten am Eisrand des Nordatlantiks gerüstet – sie kann Eis bis zu einer Dicke von 60 cm brechen und sich zwischen treibenden Eisschollen bewegen. 

Um die MERIAN präzise manövrieren zu können, wurde sie mit einem speziellen Antriebssystem ausgerüstet. Unter dem Rumpf befinden sich zwei um 360° drehbare Propeller. Damit kann das Schiff eine vorgegebene Position auf See genau halten. Das ist wichtig, wenn vom Arbeitsdeck zum Beispiel ferngesteuerte Tauchgeräte oder das Meeresboden-Bohrgerät MeBo eingesetzt werden. Zwei Stabilisierungsanlagen sorgen für eine ruhige Lage auf dem Wasser. So können die 23 Wissenschaftler in den Laboren auch bei Seegang Proben untersuchen.

Aber nicht nur auf die Technik, auch auf die Umwelt wurde beim Bau der MERIAN geachtet. Das Schiff ist mit dem Umweltabzeichen „Blauer Engel“ ausgezeichnet, das einen besonders umweltschonenden Schiffsbetrieb kennzeichnet. So kann die MERIAN in sensiblen Regionen für 48 Stunden abwasserfrei betrieben werden. Anfallende Abwässer werden in spezielle Abfalltanks an Bord geleitet, um die Umwelt nicht zu belasten. Die MARIA S. MERIAN war nach 15-jähriger Pause das erste neugebaute Forschungsschiff Deutschlands. Sie ersetzt die A. V. HUMBOLDT, die aufgrund ihres Alters außer Dienst gestellt wurden.

 

Die Maria S. Merian auf einen Blick

Baujahr: 2006
Eigner: Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Betreiber: Leitstelle Deutsche Forschungsschiffe
Heimathafen: Rostock
Länge: 94,8 m
Breite: 19,2 m
Tiefgang: max. 6,5 m
Geschwindigkeit: max. 15 kn
Besatzung: 21 Personen
Wissenschaftler: 23 Personen

Mitglieder

Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde

Das Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde, kurz: IOW, ist eine außeruniversitäre...

weiterlesen