POLARSTERN

The POLARSTERN is one of the world`s most powerful research icebreakers. Since her maiden voyage in 1982, she has been on numerous expeditions to the polar seas. Each year, she spends approximately 320 days at sea.

As a double-hulled icebreaker, the POLARSTERN can handle temperatures as low as - 50 degrees Celsius. Due to her 20,000 PS engines, the ship is able to pass through a 1.5 m ice sheet at a speed of 5 knots - thicker ice must be broken by ramming.

Usually, the POLARSTERN cruises the Antarctic Ocean during the Southern summer, lasting from November to March, and spends the Northern summer in Arctic waters. Besides the storage space needed for long expeditions, the ship hosts nine laboratories for biological, chemical, geological, geophysical, glaciological, oceanographic and meteorological research, as well as cooling chambers and aquariums. A 15 t crane can hoist research equipment into the water or onto the ice.

But research trips are just one of the POLARSTERN`s tasks. Another one is to supply the permanently manned German research stations in the Antarctic. Furthermore, the ship is a swimming weather station: Each day at sea, registering balloons are released to measure air pressure, temperature and wind speed. Meteorologists use the data to develop weather forecast models. As you can see, the POLARSTERN serves science in many ways

POLARSTERN description at the Alfred-Wegener-Institute

The Polarstern at a glance

Year of Construction: 1982
Owner: Ministry of Research
Operator: Alfred-Wegener-Institute
Port of Registry: Bremerhaven
Length: 118 m
Beam: max. 25 m
Draught: max. 11,2 m
Speed: 16 knots
Nautical Crew: 44 Persons
Scientists: 50 Persons

Members

Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research

Polar and Marine research are central themes of Global system and Environmental Science. The A...

more

POLARSTERN

Die POLARSTERN gilt als eines der leistungsfähigsten Forschungseisbrecher weltweit. Seit ihrer Jungfernfahrt 1982 hat sie zahlreiche Expeditionen in die Polarmeere unternommen. Dabei ist das Schiff etwa 320 Tage im Jahr auf See unterwegs.

Als doppelwandiger Eisbrecher ist sie bei Temperaturen bis zu -50° C einsetzbar. Dank 20.000 PS Motorenleistung kann das Schiff anderthalb Meter dicke Eisschollen mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 5 Knoten durchfahren – dickeres Eis muss durch Rammen gebrochen werden.

Gewöhnlich bereist die POLARSTERN im Südsommer, zwischen November und März, die Antarktis und verbringt den Nordsommer in arktischen Gewässern. Neben dem für solch lange Expeditionen nötigen Stauraum verfügt das Schiff über neun Labors für biologische, chemische, geologische, geophysikalische, glaziologische, ozeanographische und meteorologische Forschungsarbeiten, sowie über Kühlräume und Aquarien. Ein 15-Tonnen-Kran kann Forschungsgeräte aufs Eis oder ins Wasser hinab lassen.

Forschungsreisen sind das eine. Daneben hat die POLARSTERN die Aufgabe, die permanent besetzten deutschen Forschungsstationen in der Antarktis zu versorgen. Außerdem ist sie eine schwimmende Wetterstation: auf See werden täglich Wetterballons gestartet, die Luftdruck, Temperatur und Windgeschwindigkeit messen. Diese Daten verwenden Meteorologen in ihren Modellen zur Wettervorhersage. So dient die POLARSTERN der Wissenschaft auf vielfältige Weise.

Die Polarstern auf einen Blick

Baujahr: 1982
Eigner: Bundesrepublik Deutschland, vertreten durch das BMBF
Betreiber: Alfred-Wegener-Institut (AWI)
Heimathafen: Bremerhaven
Länge: 118 m
Breite: max. 25 m
Tiefgang: max. 11,2 m
Geschwindigkeit: 16 kn
Besatzung: 44 Personen
Wissenschaftler: 50 Personen

Mitglieder

Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung

Polar- und Meeresforschung sind zentrale Themen der Erdsystem- und globalen Umweltforschung. D...

weiterlesen