Thünen Institutes, Aquatic Resources

Thünen

The three fisheries institutes of the Thünen Institute use applied science to assess the impact of fisheries, aquaculture and other forms of ocean use on fish populations and aquatic ecosystems. They develop strategies for the sustainable development of aquatic production systems

Thünen Institutes of Sea Fisheries, of Fisheries Ecology, and of Baltic Sea Fisheries (TI Aquatic Resources)

Aim of Fisheries Research: The Thünen Institute (Federal Research Institute for Rural Areas, Forests and Fisheries) works to develop a scientific basis for environmentally sustainable fisheries and to anchor the principle of ecological and economically sustainable production in ocean resources in national and international circles. Further important goals are to draw the use of fish populations into the general protection of the marine environment and to create basic principles for a sustainable development of aquaculture, the fastest growing sector of animal production throughout the world.

The results of our research result in risk-based management recommendations for living marine resources and in evaluation of the condition and function of aquatic ecosystems. They serve as an important basis for regulatory and environmental policy measures in the framework of European and national marine policy, such as the Common Fisheries Policy (CFP)

In Germany the Thünen Institute is responsible for monitoring living marine resources and a large portion of the marine environment. For this purpose we study not only fish stocks, but also determine the physical condition of water bodies. As indicators for environmental pollution we determine the frequencies of fish diseases, pollution levels and radioactive material in fish and marine environments.

We cooperate with universities and marine research facilities both nationally and internationally and are part of the network of the European Fisheries and Aquaculture Research Organisation (EFARO). Our work is closely linked with international associations and conventions, such as the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES); the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO); the marine protection conventions of Oslo-Paris (OSPAR) and Helsinki (HELCOM); the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCMLAR), and nationally in the German National-State measurement programme for the marine environment of the North and Baltic Seas (BLMP). The Thünen fisheries research thus makes essential contributions to long term scientific evaluations of the condition and changes in the living marine resources and their ecosystems in the Baltic Sea, the North Sea, the North Atlantic and parts of the Antarctic.

For fisheries research, three research vessels, an aquaculture facility and further extensive infrastructure is available.

Thünen Institute Aquatic Resources website

 

Contact

Institute of Fisheries Ecology
Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg
Tel: +49 (0)40 / 38905 290

Director: Dr. Reinhold Hanel

Public Relations:
Dr. Michael Welling
Tel: +49 531 / 5961002
Email: pressestelle@thuenen.de
Web: www.thuenen.de

Education

Meeresbiologie

Der Master-Studiengang qualifiziert für leitende naturwissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten in Umwel...

more

Aquaculture

The aquaculture Masterscourse is a research-oriented university study course with a total dura...

more

Research Vessels

CLUPEA

The CLUPEA, which began service in 2012, is the newest, and with a length of 28.80 m, the smal...

more

SOLEA

The name: Solea solea is the scientific name for the common sole, a popular food fish that has...

more

WALTHER HERWIG III

The ship is named after Walther Herwig (1828-1912) the “father” of German high sea fishery...

more

Thünen-Institut, Aquatische Ressourcen

Thünen

Die drei Fischereiforschungsinstitute des Thünen-Instituts betreiben angewandte Forschung zu den Auswirkungen von Fischerei, Aquakultur und anderen Formen der Meeresnutzung auf Fischbestände und aquatische Ökosysteme. Sie entwickeln Strategien für die nachhaltige Entwicklung aquatischer Produktionssysteme.

Thünen-Institute für Seefischerei, für Fischereiökologie und für Ostseefischerei (TI-Aquatische Ressourcen)

Ziel der Fischereiforschung im Thünen-Institut (Bundesforschungsinstitut für Ländliche Räume, Wald und Fischerei) ist es, die wissenschaftliche Basis für eine umweltverträgliche Fischerei zu schaffen und das Prinzip einer ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung der Meeresressourcen in nationalen und internationalen Gremien zu verankern. Weitere wichtige Ziele sind, die Nutzung der Fischbestände in Einklang mit dem allgemeinen Schutz der marinen Umwelt zu bringen und Grundlagen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Aquakultur, dem weltweit am schnellsten wachsenden Sektor der Tierproduktion, zu schaffen.

Die Ergebnisse unserer Forschung münden in risikobasierte Bewirtschaftungsempfehlungen für die lebenden Meeresressourcen und in Bewertungen von Zustand und Funktion aquatischer Ökosysteme. Sie bilden eine wichtige Grundlage für regulatorische und umweltpolitische Maßnahmen im Rahmen europäischer und nationaler Meerespolitiken, wie z.B. der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik (GFP).

In Deutschland ist das Thünen-Institut zuständig für das Monitoring der lebenden Meeresressourcen und großer Teile der Meeresumwelt. Dazu untersuchen wir nicht nur die Fischbestände, sondern erfassen begleitend auch den physikalischen Zustand des Wasserkörpers. Als Indikatoren für die Umweltbelastung bestimmen wir die Häufigkeiten von Fischkrankheiten, Schadstoffgehalte und radioaktive Stoffe in Meeresumwelt und Fischen.

Wir kooperieren mit Universitäten und meereskundlichen Forschungseinrichtungen des In-und Auslandes und sind Teil des Netzwerkes der europäischen Fischereiforschungsinstitute (EFARO). Unsere Arbeiten sind eng eingebunden in internationale Gremien und Konventionen, wie den Internationalen Rat für Meeresforschung (ICES), die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO), die Meeresschutzabkommen von Oslo-Paris (OSPAR) und Helsinki (HELCOM), die Konvention zum Schutz der Antarktischen Meeresressourcen (CCMLAR) und national in das Bund-Länder-Messprogramm für die Meeresumwelt von Nord- und Ostsee (BLMP). Die Thünen-Fischereiforschung liefert damit essentielle Beiträge zu langfristigen wissenschaftlichen Bewertungen zum Zustand und den Veränderungen der lebenden Meeresressourcen und ihrer Ökosysteme in Ostsee, Nordsee, Nordatlantik und Teilen der Antarktis.

Der Thünen-Fischereiforschung stehen drei Forschungsschiffe, eine Aquakultur-Anlage sowie weitere umfangreiche Infrastruktur zur Verfügung.

 

 

Kontakt

Institut für Fischereiökologie
Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg
Tel: 040 / 38905 290

Direktor: Dr. Reinhold Hanel

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit:
Dr. Michael Welling
Tel: 0531/5961002
E-Mail: pressestelle@thuenen.de
Web: www.thuenen.de

Bildungsangebote

Meeresbiologie

Der Master-Studiengang qualifiziert für leitende naturwissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten in Umwel...

weiterlesen

Aquakultur

Der Masterstudiengang Aquakultur ist ein forschungsorientierter universitärer Studiengang mit...

weiterlesen

Forschungsschiffe

CLUPEA

Die „Clupea“ arbeitet vorwiegend in den Gebieten der Küstenfischerei der südwestlichen O...

weiterlesen

SOLEA

Zum Namen: Solea solea ist der wissenschaftliche Name der Seezunge - ein begehrter Speisefisch...

weiterlesen

WALTHER HERWIG III

Benannt ist das Schiff nach Walther Herwig (1838-1912), dem „Vater“ der deutschen Hochseef...

weiterlesen