11.02.2021

"Marine Cluster" wins "Clusters4Future" competition of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research

The future cluster Ocean Technology Campus (OTC) Rostock wins the nationwide competition of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research "Clusters4Future". This means that the development of Rostock into a top location for underwater technology will be funded over the next three years with almost 15 million euros from the Future Cluster Initiative. The OTC is now one of seven new regional innovation networks that can call themselves future clusters. This was announced by the Federal Minister of Education and Research Anja Karliczek on 3 February 2021. 

Under the coordination of the University of Rostock, the consortium of Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD, Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research WarnemündeResearch Association MV and Rostock Business as well as 13 other regional companies and start-ups convinced the jury with the quality of its innovative approach. "We are very pleased about this beautiful success that our strong network in close cooperation between research and industry can celebrate today with this award," says Professor Wolfgang Schareck, Rector of the University of Rostock. "It is paying off again that we already promoted interdisciplinary work ten years ago with the founding of the Interdisciplinary Faculty. The Future Cluster now offers us an outstanding opportunity to grow into a leading location in underwater technology," emphasises Professor Udo Kragl, Prorector for Research and Knowledge Transfer at the University of Rostock.

In the OTC Future Cluster, technological developments for the sustainable use of the oceans are integrated into the development of an innovative cluster of research, business and society. The Ocean Technology Campus, located in Rostock's fishing harbour, offers a very real platform for networking. In its innovation fields Subsea Mobility & Autonomy, Digital Mission, Ocean Lense, Sustainable Ocean Use and Ocean Open Innovation, the cluster will work on concrete research and development projects over the next three years. Some of them cover the entire value chain up to product development. This is achieved through accompanying innovation-promoting projects that extend the momentum and development from the research institutions to the marine technology companies. This will create a unique research, business and training cluster in the field of underwater technology that bundles creative potential and creates innovation-promoting structures. In this way, the OTC is to become an internationally recognised centre of innovative maritime technologies and applications in the coming years and make it clear that ecology and economy do not have to be at odds with each other.

Further information on the cluster:
https://www.inf.uni-rostock.de/mts/otc-rostock 

Information on the BMBF competition "Clusters4Future":
https://www.clusters4future.de/zukunftscluster-initiative

11.02.2021

„Meeres-Cluster“ gewinnt „Clusters4Future“-Wettbewerb des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung

Das Zukunftscluster Ocean Technology Campus (OTC) Rostock gewinnt im bundesweiten Wettbewerb des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung „Clusters4Future“. Damit wird die Entwicklung Rostocks zu einem Spitzenstandort der Unterwassertechnologie in den nächsten drei Jahren mit knapp 15 Mio. Euro aus der Zukunftscluster-Initiative gefördert. Das OTC ist nun eins von sieben neuen regionalen Innovationsnetzwerken, die sich Zukunftscluster nennen dürfen. Das gab die Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung Anja Karliczek am 3. Februar 2021 bekannt. 

Unter der Koordination der Universität Rostock konnte das Konsortium aus Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung IGD, Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde, Forschungsverbund MV und Rostock Business sowie 13 weiteren regionalen Unternehmen und Start-ups die Jury mit der Qualität seines innovativen Ansatzes überzeugen. „Wir freuen uns sehr über diesen schönen Erfolg, den unser starkes Netzwerk im engen Miteinander von Forschung und Industrie heute mit dieser Auszeichnung feiern kann“, sagt Professor Wolfgang Schareck, Rektor der Universität Rostock. „Es zahlt sich wieder aus, dass wir bereits vor zehn Jahren mit der Gründung der Interdisziplinären Fakultät die disziplinen-übergreifende Arbeit gefördert haben. Der Zukunftscluster bietet uns nun die herausragende Chance zu einem führenden Standort in der Unterwassertechnologie zu wachsen“, unterstreicht Professor Udo Kragl, Prorektor für Forschung und Wissenstransfer der Universität Rostock.

Technologie-Entwicklungen für die nachhaltige Nutzung der Meere werden im OTC-Zukunftscluster in den Aufbau eines innovativ arbeitenden Clusters aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft integriert. Der im Rostocker Fischereihafen verortete Ocean Technology Campus  bietet dafür die ganz reale Plattform zur Vernetzung. In seinen Innovationsfeldern Subsea Mobility & Autonomy, Digital Mission, Ocean Lense, Sustainable Ocean Use und Ocean Open Innovation wird der Cluster in den nächsten drei Jahren an konkreten Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Projekten arbeiten. Einige decken die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette bis in die Produktentwicklung ab. Dies gelingt durch begleitende innovationsfördernde Projekte, die die Dynamik und Entwicklung aus den Forschungsinstitutionen auf die Unternehmen der Meerestechnik ausdehnen. Es wird somit ein einzigartiges Forschungs-, Wirtschafts- und Ausbildungscluster auf dem Gebiet der Unterwasser-Technik entstehen, das kreative Potenziale bündelt und innovationsfördernde Strukturen schafft. Das OTC soll so in den nächsten Jahren zu einem international anerkannten Zentrum innovativer maritimer Technologien und Anwendungen werden und deutlich machen, dass Ökologie und Ökonomie nicht im Widerspruch zueinanderstehen müssen.

Weiterführende Informationen zum Cluster:
https://www.inf.uni-rostock.de/mts/otc-rostock 

Informationen zum BMBF-Wettbewerb »Clusters4Future«:
https://www.clusters4future.de/zukunftscluster-initiative